When I lived in London (I still think it was yesterday, but truth be told, we have been back in Sydney now for nearly two years!) I was taught how to do the trademark London eyeline flick that so many of the young women wear there. Seriously, every young woman I saw on the tube was sporting this cool look. I was introduced to it during a free make over at the Bobbi Brown make up counter at Harvey Nichols, Westfield London (couldn’t afford anything in the store back then!) and I have used the technique almost every day since! Bobbi Brown use eye gel and a special brush which looks fantastic but I’m going to tell you about a easier (and cheaper) way to get the same effect.

You can imagine how excited I was to get my hands on Maybelline’s new Master Precise Liquid Eyeliner so that I could do that London flick to perfection back in Oz. First of all, the liquid application means it is easy to just glide the eye liner on in a few simple strokes, and the precise tip allows you to create as thin a line as you want.

But be careful girls, the liquid eyeliner has a bit more staying power when first applied, so have some make up remover close to fix any mistakes.

The London flick basically starts off with a thin line at the inner corner of the top eye lid, and then graduates out to a thicker line towards the outer edge of the eye lid. I’ve added a picture here to show how it can look. This picture features an exaggerated flick at the end which can be great for night time or if you are comfortable with wearing your eyeliner that way.

The flick style is great to wear during the day as it just accentuates the top of the eye lid, it really makes your eyes pop. To wear during the day, don’t add any liner or shadow on the bottom of your eye – and then to enhance the look for ‘after five’, simply add some dark shimmery eye shadow or smudged pencil liner under your eye for that ‘smoky’ look.

Admittedly it took me a while to get the London flick just right, and there are some days when it just doesn’t work for me. But my tip is to grab this liquid eyeliner from Maybelline as the precise tip helps with application, and then just wear it as often as you can to make it work! ImageImage

